Ballad of the sack slingers

(Translation of “Ballade von den Säckeschmeißern“)

I’m yearning for a distant land
Where the slender palm trees stand
In Brasil, by the Rio Grand
Coffee sack slingers are in demand
There’s too much coffee on the market
So we don’t reach our profit target
Can’t you hear the global conscience plea
That we throw half the harvest in the sea

Throw ’em in, my boy!
Makes sense, my boy!
There is a reason, my boy!
Oh what a season, my boy!

Tell your whole familia
Next best boat to Rio, get in motion
Head straight for Brasilia
And spill that coffee in the ocean

When the human shark at Rio Grand
Has drained all his soggy beans
We’re transported from his rich land
To the USA where by all means
Too much grain pollutes the fields
A rich harvest lowers our yields
They wash potatoes with gasoline
And use wheat to fire the machine

Throw ’em in, my boy!
Makes sense, my boy!
There is a reason, my boy!
Oh what a season, my boy!

Workers pack your things!
With lower harvests, our income is higher
Food crop the devil brings!
So throw the cursed loaves into the fire!

They throw wheat into the fire!
They spill coffee into the lagoons!
When will the sack slingers tire
And throw in the business tycoons?

You see, it makes sense, my boy!
You see, it’ll be a winter, my boy
Like you’ll never see again in your life.

Leave a Reply

